Abode Hotels ACT Meteors squad will feature four new faces in 2019-20 with the 14-player squad now confirmed for the coming Women’s National Cricket League season.

The Meteors will welcome former Australian all-rounder Sarah Coyte into the squad as well as future stars Amy Yates, Isabelle Afaras and former NSW Breaker Carly Leeson.

28-year-old Coyte, who has played four Tests and 77 limited overs matches for Australia, announced her retirement from cricket at age 25 before making her return with the Sydney Sixers in WBBL|03.

Coyte is a talented medium-pace swing bowler and will add strong depth to the batting line-up as a valuable lower-order batter.    

Cricket ACT General Manager High Performance Olivia Thornton is excited by the influx of talent coming into the squad.

“I am excited about the squad that we have assembled for the coming season and am confident that we have the right mix of players to be competitive in the WNCL this year,” said Thornton

“We have kept the core of last season’s squad together and have had the opportunity to add a few new faces.

“We have brought in some experience, through Sarah Coyte’s signing, and have contracted some younger players who will be looking to forge a name for themselves. When you combine youthful exuberance with older heads like Osborne, Reakes and Mack, it makes for a potent mix.”

20-year old Carly Leeson, who hails from Universities Cricket Club in Sydney (Women’s) and Randwick-Petersham Cricket Club (Men’s), is a young medium pace bowler who has held contracts with the NSW Breakers as well as the Sydney Sixers in the WBBL.

This is the first WNCL contract for both Yates and Afaras who stood out to the Meteors with strong-performances at premier cricket level.

Yates picked up the Una Paisley Medal in 2018-19 for the best player in the Victorian Women’s Premier Cricket competition, joining dual medallist and Meteor Anna Lanning who picked up the award in 2014/15 and 2017/18.

17-year old Afaras is the youngest addition to the squad and will spend the 2019-20 season balancing cricket with her HSC. Afaras was selected in the Australian Under 19 team for their recent tour of New Zealand and is a handy off-spin bowler and middle order bat.

While welcoming some new faces, the Meteors will say goodbye to Sam Bates, Erin Burns, Clara Iemma and Hayley Jensen.

Meteors leading wicket-taker Sam Bates has made the move to Tasmania for the upcoming season while Erin Burns has signed with the NSW Breakers. New Zealand contracted player Jensen will continue to train with the Meteors around her International commitments.

“I would like to take this opportunity to thank Erin, Sam, Clara and Hayley for their contribution and commitment to the Meteors program and cricket within the ACT region. I wish them all the best for the future.” said Thornton

2019-20 Contracted Meteors Squad

Erin Osborne

Isabelle Afaras

Maitlan Brown

Zoe Cooke

Sarah Coyte

Nicola Hancock

Erica Kershaw

Claire Koski

Anna Lanning

Carly Leeson

Matilda Lugg

Katie Mack

Angela Reakes

Amy Yates