Western District have been crowned premiers in five men’s grade cricket competitions, bringing their total premierships for the season to eleven competitions out of a possible thirteen.

It was a season that no one saw coming, amid a slew of uncharted weather conditions, Western District were working their way towards a record breaking season.

In a feat that is a credit to the unity of the club and the work put in by the volunteers, coaches and players, Western District finished the season as Minor Premiers in every two-day competition, as well as topping the ladder in the fifth grade 40 over competition. As cricket for the season was forced to a premature end, Western District have been crowned the premiers for all men’s grades remaining.

The closest any club has gotten to this feat was South Canberra who claimed premierships in four grades in 1993/94. That season they won all grades except fourth grade.

Many will be aware that Western District recently travelled to Adelaide for the National Premier T20 Championships after winning the Konica Minolta T20 Cup, claiming the two victories at the tournament to finish fourth across the country, also becoming the first side from ACT Premier Cricket to win a match at the competition.

It’s been an incredibly impressive year for Western District but over in the women’s competitions it was another club who stole the show. Eastlake claimed victory in the Lynne O’Meara Cup and the Glenda Hall Shield this year in what is similarly a testament to the strong women’s program for the club which is backed by also having the most junior girls sides in the junior competition this season.