The 14-man squad was announced on Wednesday, with Ginninderra’s Cameron Suidgeest, ANU’s Ben Mitchell and Western Districts-UC’s Tom Engelbrecht all making the cut.

The NSW Bush Blues will travel to Geraldton, Western Australia from January 5-13 to compete in the Championships.

Engelbrecht is a new face to the squad, whilst both Mitchell and Suidgeest have previously been involved with the Bush Blues.

ACT Head Coach Kyle Piper said it was a fantastic result for effort to see Engelbrecht selected in the squad.

“This is a really good recognition for Tom as a young up and coming player to use the Australian Country Championships as a learning experience but also as a stepping stone to play Futures League in the coming years.” said Piper.

The squad was selected based on the recent NSW Country Championships, where ACT Southern just missed out on a Grand Final appearance.