Round 14

Eastlake vs Western District-UC

Eastlake was looking to salvage a win from a tough two-day campaign in the final match vs Wests at Kingston Oval. However, after being asked to bat by Callum Taylor, in the blink of an eye they were 3/7 as the barnstorming Ethan Bartlett express struck. Skipper Paul O’Malveney (20) and Adam Tett (52 off 62 balls) arrested the slide with some positive batting but not long after lunch, the Demons were dismissed for 123. Bartlett finished with 3/38 and veteran Matt McGann took 4/23 off 10 hostile overs.

Wests approached the chase in typically aggressive fashion, with Blake Dean blasting 62 from 42 balls including 3 sixes, despite limited time in the middle this season. Ethan Bartlett then picked up where he has left off in the second part of the season, with his second century in his last 3 innings. Whilst this innings was not quite as brutal, he still struck 12 boundaries and faced just 106 balls. McGann provided support with 38 in Wests total of 278. With a deficit of 155, Eastlake made a better fist of the 2nd innings, finishing on 3/133 when an early close to the match was called. Ryan Bartley made 46* and O’Malveney 44. The win was enough to secure 2nd place on the table for Wests.

Wests won by 8 wickets.

ANU vs Ginninderra

ANU was also playing for pride in the final match, with a finals spot out of their grasp. Dan Leerdam asked Rhys Healy to bat first at ANU North Oval and at 2/123 appeared set to make a big score. However, the in-form youngster was dismissed for a determined 54 and Healy (35) and Brad Thomas (33) also fell to leave the Tigers struggling to reach 200. A handy 38 from Michael Ninneman boosted the total to 211. Young quick Lachlan Pedley took a career best 4/27 off 16 overs.

ANU survived through to stumps and resumed day 2 in search of some big partnerships. Leerdam set himself up to bat through the innings and played a commanding and match-winning innings of 139* from 181 balls, including 7 towering sixes. With 6 points assured, the captains shook hands with ANU just 4 wickets down. Despite the loss, Ginninderra secured 3rd position on the ladder. 

ANU won by 6 wickets.

Tuggeranong vs Weston Creek Molonglo

The Creek sent Tuggeranong into bat at Chisholm Oval in their last chance to move up from 4th position on the ladder. The Vikings top order faltered, losing Van Tempest (2) and Timmy Floros (9) but Michael Barrington continued his solid season with a stubborn 67. Young Blake Ivery continued his improvement with 65 while Benji Floros celebrated his call-up to the Comets with 48* including 2 sixes. Harry Medhurst shone with the ball, grabbing 4/91. Shane Devoy declared the innings at 9/287 for a brief tilt at Creek before stumps that failed to make any inroads.

On day 2 Creek reached 1/41 without too many trouble but then suffered an extraordinary collapse to lose a staggering 7/13. Young swing bowler Nikesh Joseph was the destroyer, finishing with 5/26. Medhurst hit out for 41 from 33 balls to lift the total to 111 all out. Both Captains then agreed to end the match wary of a return clash in the semi-final at the same venue.

Tuggeranong won by 176 runs.

Queanbeyan vs North Canberra-Gungahlin

It had been a tough Douglas Cup for these two teams, but Queanbeyan had the recent finals experience in the Gallop Cup to draw on. Mark Solway sensed a big win to finish the season by sending in Norths at Freebody Oval. Norths problem all season had been their starts and the ability to form partnerships. This innings proved no exception. Returning skipper Drew Glover top scored with 26, Sam Taylor made 24 and Riain O’Sullivan made 21* but the total only reached 103. Paceman Tyler Van Luin destroyed the Norths line-up with 6/32.

Queanbeyan rattled past the Norths score only 2 down thanks to Leigh Walker belting 70 off 59 balls. Matthew Lawson and Van Luin both made quick-fire 37’s and the Blue Bags declared at 8/9 off just 31 overs. Left-armer Gus Stormon captured 3 wickets.

Batting for a 2nd time, it was a similar tale for the Eagles. Lachlan Whatmough and O’Sullivan both made 20 as the curtain drew for just 100. Vele Dukoski helped himself to 5/36 and Van Luin 3/18.

Queanbeyan won outright.


Final Douglas Cup ladder

Tuggeranong, 44

Western District-UC, 38

Ginninderra, 30

Weston Creek Molonglo, 28

Queanbeyan, 24

Eastlake, 18

ANU, 18

North Canberra-Gungahlin, 0


Semi-Final Draw - 16-17 March

Tuggeranong vs Weston Creek Molonglo, Chisholm Oval

Western District-UC vs Ginninderra, TBC