Canberra’s best indoor cricketers will go head-to-head in a revamped local competition beginning this week - the 2021 Beyond Bank Super League.

The Super League promises to be a fast, fun, and exciting competition, with four teams competing across six rounds and the grand final for the chance to be the inaugural Super League champions.

Cricket ACT has partnered with Beyond Bank as the naming rights sponsor of the Super League, continuing their ongoing support of indoor cricket in the ACT.

Cricket ACT is hoping the new format will unearth the next generation of ACT Rockets and Australian Extreme players.

“This new format will see the best talent in Canberra going head-to-head and provide an exciting opportunity for rising talent to push their case for higher honours,” Cricket ACT Indoor Cricket Chairman Billy Floros said.

“Our indoor cricket community have had very limited chances to play cricket over the past 12 months due to COVID-19, so our players are absolutely chomping at the bit to get back out there.

“The launch of the Beyond Bank Super League couldn’t have come at a better time and will play a vital role in selection for the 2022 National Championships.

“A huge thank you to Beyond Bank for your continuous support of indoor cricket. You have been a great supporter of ours for many years and we look forward to working with you for many more to come.”

The team names to be adopted will be familiar to the Canberra cricket community, with the Northern Frenzy, Southern Pride, Eastern Fever and Western Crash franchises now set to feature across both Cricket ACT outdoor and indoor representative pathways.

Beyond Bank State Manager Ross Lloyd said the partnership with Cricket ACT indoor programs was in perfect alignment to their core values.

“Beyond Bank are committed to working with not-for-profit organisations like Cricket ACT and supporting the community that supports us,” said Ross Lloyd.

“Canberra has a thriving community of indoor cricketers and we can’t wait to see them come together this weekend for the first ever game of the Beyond Bank Super League.”

Matches will be played at Weston and Kaleen Indoor Centre commencing from the 24th July through to the Grand Final on September 5. The finals series will be live-streamed via the Cricket Network.