Round 1 John Gallop Cup Results:

Queanbeyan v Ginninderra

After Queanbeyan won the toss, Ginninderra opened the batting for their first game of the season. The top half of the batting order was shaken by two ducks before captain Delaney and Owen got totals of 47 and 44 respectively. Mark Solway was the top wicket taker for Queanbeyan with 3/30 off nine overs. Ginninderra was all out for 185 runs after 44 overs. Making 10-185 Ginninderra needed tight fielding to have a chance to win. Queanbeyan stepped up strong for their innings with the top order gaining valuable runs early. This was opposed to the bowling of Yadwinder Prince that was the highlight bowler with 2/26 off six overs.

Queanbeyan won by 4 wickets.

Weston Creek Molonglo v Eastlake

Eastlake won the toss and elected to bat first, with a strong performance from the top order. The highlight for the batting order was captain Paul O’Malveney who made 101 runs (not out). This was opposed by Weston Creek’s Djali Bloomfield that had a wicket taking day of 5/37 off ten overs. Eastlake managed a hefty 8/265 off the fifty overs, with Weston Creek knowing strong batting would be the key to success. Performances by Dean (115) and Rogers (80*) were the key to the success of Weston Creek.

Weston Creek Molonglo won by 7 wickets

Western District-UC v Tuggeranong Valley

Western District-UC won the toss, with Tuggeranong beginning the batting. This brought on a successful top order with all four opening batsmen scoring above 50 runs and closing the innings with 3/276 (cc). Western District started the chase Matthew Condon scoring 51 runs off 40 balls, including 5 sixes. But the bowling force of Tuggeranong, especially Shane Devoy scoring 6/47 after eight overs resulted in Western District only scoring 207 runs.

Tuggeranong Valley won by 69 runs

North Canberra-Gungahlin v ANU

ANU won the toss and elected to bat first, with captain Daniel Leerdam scoring 75 runs for his first innings of the season. The strong top order lead to a total of 10-201, with the bowling of Esam Rahman (4/22 off six overs) slowly the team’s pace. North Canberra had a shaky start but with a strong middle order performance were able to gain some traction. The bowling of Ninneman, Evans and Sharma all taking three wickets each allowed their opponents to be quickly knocked down for 180 runs.

ANU won by 21 runs