The ACT Rockets already have a national championship trophy and an Indoor Cricketer of the Year recognition in 2018 and they are now well placed to add a few CBR Sports Awards to the collection. 

The ACT Rockets (Team of the Year), Matthew Floros (Male Athlete of the Year) and Marie Hart (Outstanding Service to Sport) were all announced as finalists in their respective categories by ACT Minister of Sport Yvette Berry at a media event today. 

This is the second year running that Marie Hart has been nominated for her outstanding services to the sport, serving as the team manager of the ACT Rockets since 1997. Her longevity and dedication is matched only by her kind and caring nature, and her endless desire to ensure that the players under her care become better players and better people.

Matthew Floros is the captain of the ACT Rockets side who went on to win their third National title in four years back in June. Floros was also named the 2017 Cricket Australia Indoor Cricket International Men’s Player of the Year. 

See below for the other finalists in these three categories. 

Athlete of the Year – Men’s Sport

  • Matthew Floros (Indoor Cricket)

  • Nick Kyrgios (Tennis)

  • Caleb Antill (Rowing)

Outstanding Service to Sport

  • Marie Hart (Indoor Cricket)

  • Andrew and Judy Dean (Ice Hockey)

  • Robyne Houston (Netball) 

Team of the Year

  • ACT Rockets (Indoor Cricket)

  • CBR Brave (Ice Hockey)

  • Vice City Rollers (Roller Derby)

Tickets are now on sale for the event on November 30 at the National Arboretum which will include guest speaker Australian Boxing legend Danny Green and acclaimed journalist Samantha Lane as the Master of Ceremonies. Tickets can be purchased from the event website at