Weston Creek Molonglo v ANU

Weston Creek Molonglo 4-141 (John Rogers 66*, Harry Medhurst 30, Sam Groenewegen 1/17,) defeated ANU 5-234 (Chamod Herath 74, Nick Groenewegen 66*, Daniel Mclean 2/31) at Stirling Oval

The first game of the round was left to the Duckworth-Lewis method to decide the winner.

The Duckworth–Lewis method is a mathematical formulation designed to calculate the target score for the team batting second in a limited overs cricket match interrupted by weather or other circumstances.  Batting first, ANU were sent into bat and scored 5-234.  ANU Batsmen dug in again and scored two big partnerships with Chamod Herath and Dylan Clements making a partnership of 97. Another massive partnership was built toward the end of the innings with Nick Groenewegan and Heet Amin scoring 101 together.

With a weather effected game Weston Creek Molonglo were set a total of 141 off just 20 overs. Unfortunately, some early wickets made the game look like it was going to be over early.  However, skipper Rogers and Medhurst dug in and scored some quick runs.  Rogers was able to hit six fours and two sixes and Medhurst, three fours to beat the new revised total with an over to spare.


Eastlake v Ginninderra

Eastlake 10-182 (Lewis Harman 48, Kieran Ferns 4/49) v Ginninderra 8-184 (Balinder Singh Khillan 50, Brad Thomas 40*, 4/28) at Kingston Oval.

Ginninderra overcame Eastlake in the 49th over to take their win tally to three for the season.

Ginninderra won the toss and sent Eastlake into bat.  Lewis Harman performed well with the bat scoring 48 off 50 balls getting the home team to a total of 8-182. With a rocky start by the openers Singh Khillan and Thomas put the pressure back on bowler grinding out win in fashionable style with a boundary. Ginninderra won the game in the 49th over with Ginninderra finishing on 8-184.


Queanbeyan v North Canberra Gungahlin

Queanbeyan 5-179 (Matthew Boak 27, Samuel Taylor 24, Matthew Grocott 3/43)  v North Canberra Gungahlin 10-178 (Michael Spaseski 40, Mark Solway 32, Lachlan Whatmough 2/35,) at Freebody Oval

Queanbeyan walk away with an extra bonus point after Queanbeyan chased down North Canberra Gungahlin within 29 overs.

North Canberra Gungahlin won the toss and elected to bat, after the top order failed to make a decent score it was left to Boak and Taylor to get the total over 150.  North Canberra Gungahlin were all out for 178.

Early wickets were needed if North Canberra-Gungahlin were going to their first win of the season. To the bowler’s dismay Chris Gane and Spaseski dug in making 44 runs before the first fall of the wicket. Queanbeyan’s Solway (32) kept the runs ticking over nearly scoring a run per ball. It took just 29 overs for Queanbeyan to beat the total and take home a bonus point.


Tuggeranong v Western District

Tuggeranong (Amid Sharma 42, Kevin Chapman 41, Michael Minns 3/47) v Western District – UC 1/4 at Chisholm Oval No.1

This long-awaited top of the table clash ended in a disappointment as the rain effected day left both teams with a draw. Tuggeranong got off to a good start posting 6-221 with Sharma scoring the highest runs of 42 off 77 balls. Minns also performed with the ball taking 3-47 off ten overs.

As the change of wickets began Western District players knew the game would be affected by rain. Tuggeranong were left wondering what if, after taking a wicket in the second over.  The match was called off in the third over leaving Western District – UC on 1-4 and 2 points for each team.

Ending the round Western District maintain the top of the ladder eight point above second place.


Round 7 draw



Western District-UC

ANU North Oval


Weston Creek Molonglo



Stirling Oval


North Canberra-Gungahlin



Harrison No 2 Oval





Kippax Enclosed Oval



For more Information Click Here