Round 2 John Gallop Cup Results:

Tuggeranong Valley v Ginninderra

Ginninderra won the toss and elected to field first against Tuggeranong who created history by selecting three brothers (Jason, Benji and Tim Floros) in the team, remarkably the first time this has happened in a First Grade team since 1937/38.  However, Tuggers got off to a shaky start with no one hitting double digits until Benji Floros came to the rescue at number 9 hitting 47 off 44 balls to get the score to 132. Nick Owen captured 4/28 off ten overs and coach Mick Delaney took 3/28.  Ginninderra equally struggled at the top, with only Rhys Healy occupying the crease. He was to be left stranded on 44no as Shane Devoy (4/23 off ten overs) and Benji Floros (4/27 off 8.1 overs), bowled Tuggeranong to victory.

Tuggeranong Valley won by 18 runs.

ANU v Weston Creek Molonglo

ANU won the toss and elected to bowl first, with Robbie Trickett and Jono Dean putting on a breezy 73 for the opening partnership before Dean departed for 40. Trickett pressed on to compile his fist century in First Grade with a magnificent 152 off only 138 balls. John Rogers chipped in with 41 and Harry Medhurst 50, as Creek compiled an imposing 6/306. The ANU bowlers struggled to make an impact as only Dan Leerdam was able to capture 2 wickets with his part-timers. ANU needed a great start and when Leerdam (55) and Scott Murn (71) combined for a partnership of 109, they gave the Students some hope. However, ANU was eventually worn down and dismissed for 223 by a consistent Creek attack. Monty Poonia took 3/40 and Medhurst getting 3/45 off ten overs.

ANU won by 83 runs.

North Canberra-Gungahlin v Eastlake

North Canberra-Gungahlin won the toss, elected to bat first but was let down by several starts that were not converted. Only Captain, Drew Crozier (45) made it past the 20’s and the Eagles were bowled out for 150. Hayden Page bowled superbly against his old club, taking 314 off 7 and Sam Gunning took 3/18. Eastlake didn’t quite get the start they wanted but Coach Adam Tett (55no) steadied the ship and guided Eastlake to victory with a bonus point with 13 overs to spare. Chamod Herath and Esam Rahman from Norths both took scored two wickets each in tidy displays.

Eastlake won by 4 wickets.

Queanbeyan v Western District-UC

Queanbeyan won the toss and elected to bat first at Freebody but was soon in trouble at 4/40. In a similar tale to Norths, only Mick Curtale with 40, managed a reasonable score as the Blue Bags were dismissed for 156 in only 37.1 overs. Western District-UC’s Joshua Corbett took 3/25 off seven overs, while veteran Matt McGann and Brendan Duffy snared 2 each. Wests took the crease and launched a savage attack on the Queanbeyan bowling. Coach Blake Dean breezed to 54 runs off 54 balls, while Joe Cook (38no off 49) and Ethan Bartlett (34no off 18) finished the job to give Wests a double bonus point. Queanbeyan’s Vele Dukoski was the most successful bowler, taking 3/35 off 6.3 overs.

Western District-UC won by 7 wickets.