Leading into round five of the Konica Minolta T20 Cup, the top four teams on the ladder are Tuggeranong Valley, Western District-UC, Ginninderra and ANU.

Ginninderra v North Canberra-Gungahlin

Ginninderra took to the crease first and made a sensational 3/241 off their 20 over campaign, breaking the previous record of the highest T20 score in the ACT. Jack Preddey making a superb 91 runs off 51 balls, supported by Michael Ninneman making 85 runs off 44 balls, the pair making a blistering 179-run partnership. North Canberra’s Matt Gerstenberg was North’s most successful bowler in taking 2 wickets in his four overs.

North Canberra started steadily led by captain Esam Rahman who made 45 off 25 balls. Unfortunately, the rest of the batting order could not withstand Ginninderra’s bowling attack led by Jak Willcox who took 3/21 off 4 overs, supported by Brad Thomas taking the final three wickets for 5 runs off 1.3 overs. North Canberra-Gungahlin were eventually bowled out for 119 runs after 15.3 overs.

Ginninderra won by 122 runs.

Western District-UC v Tuggeranong Valley

Western District batted first however lost consistent wickets to the Tuggeranong attack and was eventually bowled out for only 92 after 19.1 overs. Tuggeranong’s Shane Devoy led the attack taking 3/14 off 4 overs, supported by Jason Floros taking 3/18 off 4 overs.

In reply, Tuggeranong approached the target with ease with Matt Floros top scoring making 40 off 34 balls, supported by Thomas Vane Tempest on 27 not out. Tuggeranong reached their target in 13.1 overs totalling 3/98.

Tuggeranong Valley won by 7 wickets.

Queanbeyan v Eastlake

Queanbeyan opened the batting with Michael Spaseski top scoring making 35 runs, assisting the team in totalling 9/116 at the end of their 20 over campaign. Eastlake’s Nicholas Wood topped the bowling attack taking 3/27 off 4 overs, supported by Shenal Rajapakse taking 3/11 off 2 overs.

Eastlake replied fiercely with opener Ahmed Inham making 38 runs off 42 balls, supported by Lewis Harman with 28 runs off 20 balls. Queanbeyan’s bowling attack tried valiantly to reduce the run rate, with Vele Dukoski taking three wickets in a frantic final over to ensure Eastlake was just short of the target on 6/114 at the end of their 20 overs.

Queanbeyan won by 2 runs.

Weston Creek Molonglo v ANU

Weston Creek took to the crease first with Michael Day top scoring making 38 runs off 29 balls, supported by Jono Dean with 37 off 28 balls. ANU bowled strongly with Lewis Evans taking an impressive 4/36 off 4 overs. Weston Creek were bowled out on their final ball to total 138 runs after 20 overs.

ANU replied strongly with Randall Starr making a superb 61 runs off 44 balls, supported by Scott Murn on 46 not out. The Weston Creek bowling attack bowled tightly and at the end of the 19th over looked assured of victory with ANU still requiring 22 runs to win. However, Murn had other ideas and launched an incredible assault smashing 4 fours and a six to snatch victory on the final ball. ANU finished on 6/139 at the end of their 20 overs.

ANU won by 4 wickets.

Round six featured some wet weather with all matches being shortened or abandoned due to the rain.

Ginninderra v Western Districts-UC

In a rain-affected match, Ginninderra took to the crease first with Michael Delaney leading the batting order making 29 off 14 balls, supported by Jordie Misic making 28. Western District’s Nicholas Broes led the bowling attack taking 3/21 off 4 overs. Ginninderra’s innings was shortened to 18 overs due to rain with the scorecard reading 7/119.

After the rain ceased, Wests had a revised target of 89 runs off 11 overs based on DLS method. Ethan Bartlett led the batting order making 30 off 17 balls, with Ginninderra’s Brad Thomas taking 2/7 off 2 overs to reduce the run rate however Wests achieved their target in 10.3 overs totalling 5/89.

Western District-UC won by 5 wickets.

North Canberra-Gungahlin v Tuggeranong Valley

Play was only possible for 1.2 overs before rain washed out play. Match was abandoned with each team receiving one point.

Queanbeyan v Weston Creek Molonglo

Weston Creek Molonglo took to the crease first with Ben de Carvalho leading the scorecard making 42 not out, supported by Robert Trickett making 39 not out. Queanbeyan’s Guy Gillespie led the bowling attack taking 2/19 off 3 overs before rain delay shortened Weston Creek’s innings to 16 overs with the score showing 5/133.

Queanbeyan began their shorted innings with the DLS target of 96 runs from 10 overs. Michael Curtale top scored making 27 off 17 balls. Weston Creek’s bowling attack kept the run rate low with Djali Bloomfield taking 2/2 off 0.5 overs and Ben Mitchell taking 2/11 off 2 overs. The match was abandoned after 7.5 overs due to a second downpour of rain with Queanbeyan on 7/63.

Weston Creek Molonglo won under the DLS method.

Eastlake v ANU

Eastlake opener Ahmed Inham made an impressive 69 not out assisting his team to 1/118 before a rain delay after 16 overs. ANU’s only wicket taker was Angus Tarpey taking 1/17 off 2 overs.

ANU had a shortened innings to 12 overs where their target was 108 runs based on DLS method. Randall Starr led the batting order making 56 runs, supported by captain Dan Leerdam with 39 runs. Eastlake’s Louis Blaney-Brown led the bowling attack taking 2 wickets in an over but could not stop ANU reaching their target 5/109 after 11.2 and securing the win.

ANU won by 5 wickets.