In a move which sparked controversy, the Big Bash Final was awarded to Manuka Oval as the first and so far neutral venue for the Big Bash League.

Winning the toss and batting first, the Sydney Sixers made 5 for 147. Moises Henriques top scored for the Sydney side with 77 after coming to the crease when the side was 2 for 7.

In reply, the Perth Scorchers were cruising at 2 for 131 but the dismissals of Man of the Match Shaun Marsh for 73 sparked a mini collapse. With one over remaining, Perth required 8 runs for victory and seemed to coasting to victory with one run needed off the final three balls of Brett Lee’s over.

Lee then dismissed Nathan Coulter-Nile and Same Whiteman with successive balls to have the possibility of a super over.

Yasir Arafat sneaked a single off the last ball to give the Scorchers back to back titles in one of the epic Big Bash Finals.

List so far

>>No. 5 - Manuka hosts the Sheffield Shield Final

>>No. 6 - Brett Lee announces his arrival – PM’s XI v India

>>No.7 - Comets and Meteors are launched

>>No. 8 - Weston Creek come from behind to claim the Douglas Cup

>>No. 9 - The return of the Prime Minister’s XI

>>No. 10 - England hammered in Ashes tour match