2 November 1997 – Comets enter the Mercantile Mutual Cup

After several years of lobbying, the Canberra Comets became the eighth team to play in the Australian Domestic Limited Overs Competition, in that season known as the Mercantile Mutual Cup.

Their inaugural match in the competition was at Manuka Oval against a strong South Australian side captained by Jamie Siddons. Winning the toss and batting, the South Australians were restricted to a modest 237.

Greg Blewett top scored with 97 with Mark Higgs the leading wicket taker for 3 for 39. The home side was competitive in their reply but were dismissed for 226 in the final over after being well placed at 4 for 171 at one stage. No player reached 50 for the home side with Peter Solway top scoring with 41. Paul Wilson and Brad Young took two wickets each for the visitors but four run outs hurt the home side.

23 October 2009 – Meteors play their first National home match

2009/10 saw the ACT Meteors accepted into the Australian National Women’s Competitions, namely the Women’s National Cricket League and the WNCL T20 Competition. The first match at home for the ACT Meteors was a match in the WNCL T20 Competition against Tasmania.

Led by local Kris Britt, the Meteors were a class above the Tasmanian side. Winning the toss and batting first, the Tasmanian side could only reach 6 for 103 in their 20 overs. Former Australian player, Mel Jones top scored for the visitors with 51 off 42 balls while Kris Britt took 3 for 12 off just 3 overs.

In reply, the Meteors made easy work of the target, passing the total without losing a wicket and having 33 balls remaining in the innings. Leonie Coleman made 70 off just 48 balls with 12 boundaries.

List so far

>>No. 8 - Weston Creek come from behind to claim the Douglas Cup

>>No. 9 - The return of the Prime Minister’s XI

>>No. 10 - England hammered in Ashes tour match