Abode Hotels ACT Meteors spinner Erin Osborne has been confirmed as the captain of the side after taking on the role before the start of the 2017/18 season.   

29-year old Osborne will be supported by all-rounder Angela Reakes who has been named as her deputy ahead of their 2018/19 Women’s National Cricket League campaign.  

ACT Meteors Head Coach James Allsopp said he felt Osborne had developed considerably as a leader and it was an easy decision for her to continue as skipper.

“Erin learnt a great deal from her experience as captain of the team during the 2017/18 season and has been extremely reflective as to how she can continue to grow and learn as a leader,” said Allsopp

“With this commitment to her leadership development it was a very easy decision to appoint her as captain once again.

“She is an ashes and world cup winning player for Australia – these are aspirations that all players in our squad have. I know that Erin is really determined to lead our girl’s in taking that next step to becoming international cricketers.”

Allsopp believes that Osborne and Reakes are the perfect combination to lead the team as they prepare for their opening round match on September 21.

“Both girls complement one another extremely well. Erin is very astute when it comes to tactics and cricket related decisions whilst Ange has been the glue that holds the squad together for a number of years now.

“Ange and Erin have a great relationship and are both extremely honest with one another in an effort to continually support their growth as leaders.”

Allsopp has also named an extended leadership group alongside Osborne and Reakes with 25-year old spinner Samantha Bates and 24-year old batter Katie Mack rounding out the group.

“The captains and coaching team discussed at length introducing a leadership team for our campaign this summer.

“Like Ange and Erin, both girls (Bates & Mack) have a great understanding of the game and this united leadership group will be a big factor in our success this season.”

2018/19 Abode Hotels ACT Meteors Playing Squad | Erin Osborne (C), Angela Reakes (VC), Hayley Jensen, Nicola Hancock, Katie Mack, Claire Koski, Erin Burns, Erica Kershaw, Matilda Lugg, Maitlan Brown, Clara Iemma, Samantha Bates, Zoe Cooke, Anna Lanning