McDonalds ACT Premier Cricket - First Grade

Douglas Cup - Round 12

North Canberra Gungahlin 217 & 4-66 (L.Trevaskis 50, M.Boak 6-44, L.Trevaskis 4-33) defeated Weston Creek Molonglo 115 & 171 (MD.Bennett 40, SR.Taylor 33, DM.Bloomfield 4-41, SR.Taylor 3-18) on first innings.

Weston Creek won the toss and sent the home side into bat at Harrison Oval. Opening batters Wight and Ryan started off well but the home side lost three wickets in quick succession early in the inning with Ryan, Zhang and Wight falling for just four runs leaving the side 3-38. Trevaskis (50) and Rahman (20) put on a solid partnership of 55 runs before Bloomfield trapped Rahman LBW giving him his fourth scalp of the afternoon. Tranter (38) and Whatmough (32) both had solid starts and the home side finished with 217. Weston Creek came out to bat but a slow start saw Creek trailing at 4-41 early in the piece. Taylor put on 33 but the side was all out for 115 runs and North Canberra enforced the follow on to send them back in. Their second innings started off in similar fashion losing Myburgh early but Bennett (40) and Trickett (23) steadied the ship. Creek went on to make 171. North Canberra didn’t chase the total required for an outright win but won first innings comfortably.  

Ginninderra 174 & 182 (R.Healy 84, T.Engelbrech 4-88) were defeated by Western District – UC 7-338 (dec) & 2-11 (M.Condon 119, T.Engelbrecht 92 & 4-55 & 7-79) on first innings.

Ginninderra won the toss and elected to bat at Kippax Oval. Mathew McGann struck early to dismiss the opening batters for a total of 8 runs but a good knock from Rhys Healy (84) helped lead the home side to an innings total of 174. Engelbrecht was the pick of the bowlers with figures of 4-55. Matt Condon (119) and Engelbrecht (92) shone for the Wests putting on a 130-run partnership and the visitors declared at 7-338. Ginninderra again lost their opening pair for 8 runs but Misic, Healy and Faram steadied with good starts however Engelbrecht quickly made his way through the middle order picking up 7 wickets for 79 runs. Wests came back in needing 19 runs to win with just over left of play. They lost two players for a duck before Cooke hit 11 runs from 3 balls to fall shy of the total to win outright.

Eastlake 291 & 0-22 (TJ.Henry 96, MJ.Taylor-Briscoe 51, PG Mathai 4-68) defeated ANU 160 & 150 (SW.Murn 76, L.McKnight 4-72) outright.

ANU won the toss and elect to bat at Kingston Oval. Owen Chivers (35) and Nick Groenwegen (30) were the top scorers for ANU in their first innings total of 160 with both Meere and Mathai picking up three wickets apiece. Eastlake put on an opening partnership of 51 runs with Tom Henry going on to make 96 runs from just 111 balls. Mitchell Taylor-Briscoe also made a half century with the home side making 291 runs. ANU came back in trailing by 131 runs but couldn’t put a big score on the board, bowled out for 150 and leaving Eastlake with a small chase of just 20 runs in their second innings. Eastlake finished with 0-22 and outright winners.

Tuggeranong 263 (T.Floros 143, S.Devoy 4-53) defeated by Queanbeyan 265 (M.Solway 63, M.Spaseski 3-46)

Tuggeranong won the toss and elected to bat first at Chisholm Oval. This match was also a significant milestone for umpire Terry Keel – who was officiating his record-breaking 242nd First Grade Match in the ACT competition. Opening batsman Timmy Floros was in fine-form hitting 143 runs from 192 balls in an impressive display. The middle order failed to deliver for the home side but good batting from Vane Tempest, Hays and Devoy saw the side all out for a respectable 263. There were plenty of contributors in Queanbeyan’s innings with five batsmen hitting 30 or more runs to lead the side to a first innings victory after 100 overs. Shane Devoy was the pick of the bowlers for Tuggeranong with figures of 4-53.


Women’s Cricket

Glenda Hall Shield - Round 10

Tuggeranong 5-107 (V.King 35, M.Mayoh 2-19) defeated by Eastlake 3-108 (A.Jason-Jones 27, E.Edwards 2-10)

Eastlake won the toss and sent Tuggeranong in to bat. Victoria King and Elizabeth Coper-Jones combined well for an opening partnership of 60 runs before King was bowled by Elizabeth Edwards. Makayla Clark made an unbeaten 18 and the home side finished their overs with 5-107 with Edwards taking 2-10 from her three overs and Page, Hicks and King combining for the other three wickets. Eastlake came in to chase 108 and while their top order all fell in the teens, Jason-Jones 27 from 20 balls helped lead the side to victory after 19 overs. Megan Mayoh was the pick of the bowlers for Tuggeranong with 2-19 after her 4 overs with Coper-Jones the only other wicket-taker.

North Canberra Gungahlin 5-100 (A.Jones 32, A.Slocombe 2-18) defeated by Weston Creek Molonglo 4-105 (Details Not Submitted)

Weston Creek Molonglo won the toss and elected to bat first at Keith Tournier Oval. Creek went on to make 4-105 from their 20 overs with Aimee Slocombe taking 2-18 from her two over spell. North Canberra made a positive start with a handy 32 runs from skipper Adelaide Jones but the middle order failed to pick up momentum with the home side falling five runs shy of the required total.

Ginninderra 2-131 (M.Powell 57, M.Water 4-16) defeated Western District – UC 9-113 (Z.Cooke 22)

Ginninderra won the toss and elected to bat first at Aranda Oval. Opening pair Powell and Harris started the game off well with a 52 run partnership with Powell continuing on to make 57 runs from just 51 runs. Good batting gave the Tigers an innings total of 2-131 and setting up a tough task for the Wests. Wests Captain Zoe Cooke got her side off to a good start with a knock of 22 but without any other batsman managing to crack the 20s’ and Mary Waters firing with the ball the side fell short to lose by 18 runs.