The Prime Minister of Australia, The Hon. Malcolm Turnbull MP, and Cricket Australia’s National Selection Panel (NSP) have today announced the Prime Minister’s XI squad for the Twenty20 fixture against England at Canberra’s Manuka Oval on 2 February.

The ICC’s 9th ranked Test bowler and Australian off-spinner Nathan Lyon will lead one of the strongest PM’s XI sides in recent memory, which will be coached by former Australian wicketkeeper Brad Haddin.

Prime Minister’s XI - Squad

Nathan Lyon -Sydney Sixers (C)

Sean Abbott - Sydney Sixers

Brendan Doggett - Brisbane Heat

James Faulkner - Melbourne Stars

Sebastian Gotch - Melbourne Stars

Peter Handscomb - Melbourne Stars

Moises Henriques - Sydney Sixers

Daniel Hughes - Sydney Sixers

Nic Maddinson - Sydney Sixers

Peter Nevill - Sydney Sixers

Mitchell Swepson - Brisbane Heat

12th – Blake MacDonald, ACT

Coach: Brad Haddin

Lyon is one of eight players in the team with international experience.

Victorian Peter Handscomb and New South Wales duo Nic Maddinson and Moises Henriques, who have all represented Australia in both Test and limited-overs cricket, will ensure the Prime Minister’s XI has plenty of experience at the top of the order.

Fast bowler Sean Abbott (New South Wales) has also been named alongside some of Australia’s best emerging talent with the ball who are expected to form a strong bowling line-up.

One of the emerging quicks named is Queensland player Brendan Doggett - a pace-bowler with Indigenous heritage who has had a breakout KFCBBL|07 with the Brisbane Heat that included 5/35 against the Perth Scorchers.

Commenting on the announcement, the Prime Minister said:

“The Prime Minister’s XI match is an exciting fixture that I always look forward to – and this year is an opportunity to witness some of Australia’s established stars alongside the best young players.”

National Talent Manager Greg Chappell said:

"It's pleasing to put together a really strong side to represent the Prime Minister's XI, this is one of the most experienced teams we've assembled for this clash in a number of years,” Chappell said.

"Nathan Lyon gives this team plenty of leadership, with the support of Brad Haddin as coach. It's pleasing to have a number of other players in this squad with international experience, including Peter Handscomb, Peter Nevill and James Faulkner.

"It's also a great opportunity for a number of players in strong form in the Big Bash League, including Nic Maddinson and Sean Abbott as well as emerging talents such as Mitchell Swepson and Brendan Doggett.

"We're confident this team can give England a real test ahead of the T20 Tri-Series."

The 12th man for the match will be ACT teenager Blake McDonald, a right-hand batsman who captained the ACT/NSW Country under 19 squad last season.

The match is a double-header, with the ICC’s 15th ranked nation Hong Kong to take on an ACT XI at Manuka Oval on the same day at 2:30pm.

Tickets to the Prime Minister’s XI double-header are available now at