ANU v Eastlake

After a loss on Saturday, Eastlake won their second game of the weekend in two tightly fought games. Skillful bowling by ANU left Eastlake unable to find a stable partnership and a decent defending score. Making 10-153 Eastlake needed quality bowling and tight fielding to defend against the high scoring opposition. Eastlake made a perfect start taking four early wickets for only 27 runs.  The middle order of Ben Mitchell and Chamod Herath guided the home team over 100 runs. This was short lived as Nikhil Mathai cleaned up the tail order walking away with impressive figures of 4/26 off eight overs.

ANU fell short by short by 14 runs.


Western District – UC v Ginninderra

Western District – UC showed why they are in first place chasing down a massive total within 35 overs. Western District – UC won the toss and sent Ginninderra into bat making a total of 10-228.

Western District players showed their skills with an opening partnership of 92 runs. After a few overs of getting his eye in, Mathew Condon unleashed spiking the run rate up to 8 runs per over and scoring a massive 127 runs of 96 balls.  After getting out in the 31st over it was left to the middle order to bring home the victory.

After five rounds Western District- UC are undefeated and are set to play second place ANU in the seventh round on the 18th of November.


Weston Creek Molonglo v North Canberra – Gungahlin

North Canberra – Gungahlin were involved in another close round going down to Weston Creek Molonglo by 1 wicket.  Robert Ryan (60 runs) and Ross Coates (48) built a solid partnership of 93 runs.  North Canberra – Gungahlin scored a competitive total of 7-193.

Weston Creek Molonglo walked away with two wins under the belt this weekend after opening batsman Robert Trickett scored 77 runs off 54 balls and Blake Dean 48 off 28 balls. The flying start was not held as North Canberra – Gungahlin tightened up their bowling lines and the wickets started to fall.

Weston creek Molonglo were able to crawl over the line with one wicket to spare.


Tuggeranong v Queanbeyan

Queanbeyan elected to bat and were all out for 10-218. Tuggeranong’s opening bowler’s Charlie Morris (4-40 off 10 overs) and Benji Floros (3-43 off nine over) performed with the ball firing at the Queanbeyan batsmen.  Queanbeyan’s Dean Solway and Philip Moore were able to fight hard to make decent scores to bring their team to a total of 10/218. Timmy Floros was able to crack a century and remain not out for the entire innings securing the win in the 45th over.