ACT representatives SJ Moore and the late Keith Carnall were inducted into the Cricket ACT Hall of Fame on Friday during the 58th annual ACT Cricket Awards at the Canberra Southern Cross Club.

Cricket ACT Chief Executive Officer, Olivia Thornton, congratulated the players and their families on their induction into the Hall of Fame.

“The Hall of Fame is one of the highlights of our annual awards, and Cricket ACT is incredibly proud to recognise and honour the careers of SJ and Keith and welcome them into this exclusive group,” Thornton said.

“It was extremely special to have SJ present at the awards as well as the family of Keith to celebrate their impressive contribution to our game.

“Cricket ACT has a rich history, and the Hall of Fame was introduced to honour and recognise not only outstanding statistical records but also the legacy that these players have left behind for the next generation.”

The Cricket ACT Hall of Fame was inaugurated in 2019. Moore and Carnall join an exclusive list of inductees including Peter Solway, Michael Bevan, Greg Irvine, Bronwyn Calver, Lorne Lees, Glenda Hall, Bill Tickner, Bruce Robin, Marjorie Moore, Richard Done, Brad Haddin and Lynette Cooke.

2022 Cricket ACT Hall of Fame Inductees

SJ Moore (Western District, Eastlake)

SJ Moore had one of the most successful careers in Women’s Grade cricket history in the ACT. Moore played for Western District from the mid-1980s to 2001/02 and then for Eastlake from 2002/03 to 2005/06 where she was captain coach at the time. In those years she won 18 Premierships, something that is unlikely to be repeated. Overall, she played 240 matches in 1st Grade, 3133 runs at an average of 38.20 including two centuries and taking 494 wickets at 6.01 including 5 wickets in an innings on 15 occasions.

Moore represented the ACT on 33 occasions making her debut at the 1986/87 Australian Women’s Cricket Championships, most of her matches coming between the end of the ACT’s involvement in the Australian Women’s Cricket Championship and before their involvement in the Women’s National Cricket League. Overall, she scored 268 runs and took 26 wickets at ACT level. A winner of the Women’s Best & Fairest in 2001/02, Moore has the Cricket ACT Women’s First Grade Player of the Year named in her honour.

Keith Carnall (Eastlake, Canberra, Northbourne, Ainslie) - (1900-1977)

Keith Carnall is the second wicket-keeper to be inducted into the Cricket ACT Hall of Fame. Born in Melbourne in 1900, he moved with his family to Canberra in 1914 to work on the Duntroon Estate. He later opened one of the first sports stores in Canberra just over the road from Manuka Oval.

A member of the first ACT Representative side in 1923, he continued playing for the ACT until 1946. He was the first player to score a century at Manuka Oval as well as hitting the first six at the ground. He captained the ACT on nine occasions, including in his last match in 1946.

Carnall represented Southern Districts in the NSW Country Week competition in four successive seasons from 1928/29 to 1931/32. He played 65 times for the ACT scoring 1244 runs and making 85 dismissals. In a First Grade career that spanned four clubs and 29 years, the original Eastlake club, Canberra, Northbourne and Ainslie, he played 144 First Grade matches, scoring 3058 runs including three centuries and making 235 dismissals. He played in 6 Grand Finals, winning 4 of them, all with the dominate Northbourne club of the 1930s.

Carnall was elected to the ACT Sports Hall of Fame in 1996 for his contribution to cricket as well as Tennis, Hockey and Australian Football, all sports that he represented the ACT in.