With the 2021/22 Women’s National Cricket League (WNCL) season delayed due to COVID-19, the WBBL will be the first hit out of the season for the Meteors and fans first opportunity this season to see them in action.

The WBBL|07 season opener tonight at Blundstone Arena will feature two big names from the Meteors with captain Ange Reakes’ Sydney Sixers to go up against former captain Erin Osborne’s Melbourne Stars from 7.40pm AEDT.

Strikers’ duo Katie Mack and Maddie Penna will open their campaigns in a Saturday night blockbuster against reigning champions Sydney Thunder, while Carly’s Leeson’s Renegades will go head to head with Chloe Rafferty’s Hurricanes on Saturday afternoon.

Rising stars Olivia Porter (Sydney Thunder) and Matilda Lugg (Sydney Sixers) both signed their first WBBL contracts this year and looking to make their much awaited debuts, while Zoe Cooke made the move this year from the Melbourne Renegades to join teammate Nicola Hancock at the Brisbane Heat. The Heat will face the Perth Scorchers on Sunday morning.

This season, Seven will show 24 Weber WBBL|07 matches live, with all 59 matches to be broadcast on Foxtel and Kayo, in addition to coverage on ABC Radio and cricket.com.au.

Meteors in the WBBL

Sydney Sixers - Ange Reakes & Matilda Lugg

Sydney Thunder – Olivia Porter

Melbourne Renegades – Carly Leeson

Melbourne Stars – Erin Osborne

Hobart Hurricanes – Chloe Rafferty

Adelaide Strikers – Katie Mack & Maddie Penna

Brisbane Heat – Nicola Hancock & Zoe Cooke

WBBL|07 Opening Weekend

Oct 14: Sydney Sixers v Melbourne Stars, Blundstone Arena, 7:40pm AEDT, Seven/Foxtel/Kayo

Oct 16: Melbourne Renegades v Hobart Hurricanes, Blundstone Arena, 3:40pm AEDT, Seven/Foxtel/Kayo

Oct 16: Sydney Thunder v Adelaide Strikers, Blundstone Arena, 7:05pm AEDT, Seven/Foxtel/Kayo

Oct 17: Perth Scorchers v Brisbane Heat, Blundstone Arena, 10:15am AEDT, Seven/Foxtel/Kayo

Oct 17: Hobart Hurricanes v Sydney Sixers, Blundstone Arena, 1:40pm AEDT, Seven/Foxtel/Kayo