Semi-Final #1

Tuggeranong vs Weston Creek Molonglo

Creek skipper John Rogers liked the look of the Chisholm Oval wicket and decided to bat first. However, he was ultimately the only player to reap any rewards against the strong Tuggeranong attack. Both Shaun Kimber (1) and Robbie Trickett (6) went early before 17yo Sam Myburgh (25) combined with Rogers to take the score to 100. Big occasion player Sam Taylor was then dismissed for nought by Shane Devoy as the game swayed back to the Vikings. Harry Medhurst (16) and Tom Atallah (12) got starts but Rogers couldn’t find a partner as he closed in on a memorable century. When he was the last player dismissed on 108 from only 128 deliveries, featuring 18 glorious fours, the Creek had to be content with 195. Devoy returned excellent figures of 4/46 from 20.4 overs and spin twin Jason Floros captured 4/49.

Tuggeranong’s response couldn’t have started better with Tom Vane Tempest (18) and Tim Floros (36 from 44 deliveries) putting on 50 for the 1st wicket. What followed was a collapse as calamitous as Creek’s the week before. The Vikings lost 9/56 at the hands of Dan McLean (3/10), Sam Taylor (3/24) and Djali Bloomfield (3/38). McLean picked up the prize wicket of Jason Floros first ball. At stumps on day 1 Tuggeranong was 9/106.

The Vikings decided not to waste any time at the crease so declared on its overnight total. This left Creek with a lead of 89 runs and the task of batting Tuggeranong out of contention. This didn’t quite go to plan, despite an excellent start by Shaun Kimber (28) and Trickett (26). The spin combination of Devoy (3/36) and Jason Floros (5/29) was introduced and picked apart the Creek middle order, including Rogers for just 15. Eventually Creek fell for just 127, giving them a lead of 216. This gave Tuggers hope but they would need to score at close to five runs per over I the time left in the game. When they quickly slumped to 4/67 the chase became even harder. Devoy (56) and Benji Floros (32 off 38 deliveries) then swung the momentum Tuggeranong’s way with a vital partnership of 58 but once both were dismissed the Vikings couldn’t sustain the run rate and was dismissed 49 runs short with 5.3 overs remaining. It was a fighting win against the odds by Creek, given their heavy defeat on the previous weekend. They had successfully qualified in their 5th successive Douglas Cup final.

Weston Creek Molonglo won by 49 runs

Semi-Final #2

Western District-UC vs Ginninderra

Playing in their first Douglas Cup semi-final since 2016/2017, the Tigers decided to give Wests first use at the crease in the tussle at Jamison Oval. Despite losing Murchie early for 6, Wests went to lunch in a strong position at 1/115, with playing coach Blake Dean unconquered on a run a ball 70. The complexion of the game changed after the break with Dean tied down then departing for 79, Jordan Smith for a patient 45, then the prized scalps of Ethan Bartlett for nought and Matt Condon for 2 to Michael Ninneman. Joe Cooke stood resolute for 61, including 10 fours but once he was dismissed the innings eventually concluded at 252. Ninneman was extremely impressive with 4/63 and he was well supported by Jak Willcox, Jarryd Hatton and Brad Thomas who all collected 2 wickets.

The Ginninderra opening combination of Jordie Misic and Amit Sharma may have been short in stature, but they managed to put together a handy opening stand of 31 before Rhys Healy joined Misic for a match winning partnership of 130. Misic was eventually run out for 71 and Healy was dismissed for 69. Despite Dylan Faram falling for nought, Brad Thomas chipped in with 29 and Josh Watling (23*) provided a cool head to take the Tigers to a 1st innings victory with 3 wickets in hand. With a little over a session remaining, Wests skipper conceded and congratulated the Tigers on their victory. For Ginninderra, it will be their first appearance in a two-day final since 1992/1993.

Ginninderra won by 3 wickets on the 1st innings.