Ginninderra surge into Douglas Cup semis, Wests and Eastlake to face off again in Women’s decider

Back-to-back wins to finish the home and away round has powered Ginninderra into the 1st Grade two-day semi-finals ahead of North Canberra-Gungahlin, while a comfortable win over Tuggeranong delivered the Minor Premiership to Queanbeyan. And in Women’s cricket, a replay of the Twenty20 Final awaits the Lynne O’Meara Cup one-day Final.

1st Grade Round 20 Two-day Match Summaries

Queanbeyan defeated Tuggeranong by five wickets at Freebody Oval, led by 83 from opening bat Nic Broes and Raakin Rahman’s 4-21 with the ball. Despite winning the toss and batting first, Tuggeranong struggled to gain any ascendancy and were bowled out for 186 on the first day with only three batters surpassing 30. Tyler Hays top scored for Tuggeranong with 41 off 82 balls.

Broes and Mark Solway showed their class for Queanbeyan, combining for a 94-run partnership in response to Tuggeranong’s 186, and Dean Solway and Esam Rahman finishing off the job for the Bluebags.

At ANU North, Ginninderra defeated ANU by two wickets in a game the Tigers had to win to keep their season alive. ANU were sent into bat and were only able to manage a merely 158 after Jak Wilcox ripped through the students to finish with figures of 5-56. With 45 overs still remaining on the first day, Ginninderra’s top order toiled hard to finish the day 5-118 with skipper Jordie Misic and young gun Tom Hogan fighting hard to finish not out at the end of days play.

Resuming the next day Misic (61) and Hogan (58*) continued where they left off, both bringing up half-centuries and surpassing ANU’s total in the process. The teams shook hands at lunch after the Tigers declared at 8-199d, Ginninderra winning on first innings.

A drawn-out affair at Kingston served as batting practice for Eastlake who piled on the runs against Weston Creek Molonglo. Eastlake’s Jack Sanson (93) and Adam Tett (85) led the way for the Demons with Harry Medhurst (4-65) and Blake Faunce (3-75) sharing the wickets for the ‘Creek.

After 115 overs and well into the second day, Eastlake were eventually bowled out for 362 and WCM began their batting innings, with Robbie Trickett (36) and Josh Myburgh (36*) getting starts before the game concluded in an early draw.

North Gungahlin Canberra secured an outright victory over Western District at Jamison to finish their season on high, bouncing back in the best possible way from losing outright to Queanbeyan in a day in the previous round.

After losing the toss, Norths skipper Nicolas Wood was immense with the new ball, finishing with incredible figures of 8-55 as the Eagles bowled Wests out for 164. Norths built on their positive bowling performance to make 203 in reply grasping a lead of 39 led by no.3 Jarrod Colliss who hit a quick fire 70 from 47 balls.

Wests skipper Scott Murn made 88 in Wests second innings of 204 to put the game in the balance, setting a target of 165 runs for Norths, before Mohamed Inham (68) and Gen Casarotto (58*) made light work of the Lions target, combining for a 78-run stand to secure Norths an outright victory to finish the season by six wickets.

Women’s Grade One-Day Semi-Finals

Eastlake flexed their muscles with a dominant 137-run victory over Queanbeyan. Elizabeth Edwards stood tall the top of the order with 80* off 114 balls to lead Eastlake to an imposing total of 228 from their 40 overs.

Queanbeyan in response struggled to gain any momentum throughout their innings and were bowled out for 91, with Eastlake’s bowlers shared around the wickets. Shazia Zazai (2-12) and Wafa Zakria (2-10) were the pick of Eastlake’s attack.

Western District have earnt themselves a shot at redemption from the T20 decider against Eastlake, following their tight four-wicket victory over ANU.

Sent into bat, ANU managed to put up a competitive total of 158, no.3 Neve Lynch top scoring with a run-a-ball 40.

In response, Wests no.3 Brianna Dillon found herself at the crease early and went hard at the ANU attack, smacking eleven boundaries before being dismissed for a quick-fire 65 from 36 balls. Dillion was well supported by Madeleine Hollis (27) and Alessia Montefiore-Gardner (26) as Wests romped home by four wickets with 20 overs to spare.

Lower Grade Standouts

  • Despite their loss at Chisholm, Duane Bush from Queanbeyan 2nd Grade led his side to a competitive total of 277, with 103 runs of 153 balls.
  • Tristan du Toit from ANU 2nd Grade bowled an incredible eleven maidens and finished with figures of 5-16 off 19.4 overs in their loss to Ginninderra.
  • Weston Creek Molonglo 3rd Grade piled on the runs at Deakin, scoring 331 in their outright victory over Eastlake, George Wawn leading the way with 126 and Eknor Deo with 77*.
  • Queanbeyan veteran Peter Solway once again led his side out of trouble when he came in at 6-126 to score 103*, leading the Bluebags to a commanding total of 309 against Tuggeranong.
  • Ryan Selmes from Western District 4th Grade dispatched 110 off 139 balls at Harrison in their dominant victory over Norths.
  • Jeremy Macdonald will hopefully earn a promotion up the order for Queanbeyan 4th Grade hit 122* off just 107 balls batting at no.9 in their win over Tuggeranong at Chisholm.
  • Graeme Alexander picked up 4-25 off his eight overs to lead Queanbeyan into to the 5th Grand Final following their victory over Western District.
  • After tying their semi-final with Ginninderra, ANU progressed through to the 5th Grade Grand Final with a superior ladder position.

Upcoming Semi-Finals and Finals

  • Women’s Grade Lynne O’Meara Cup One-Day Final: Eastlake vs Western District at EPC Solar Park in Phillip from 1pm (Saturday).
  • 5th Grade Grand Final: ANU vs Queanbeyan at O’Connor, 1pm (Saturday).
  • 1st Grade semi-finals:
    • Queanbeyan vs Ginninderra at Chisholm 1, 11am.
    • Weston Creek Molonglo vs ANU at Stirling, 11am.
  • 2nd Grade semi-finals:
    • Western District vs Queanbeyan at Jamison, 11am.
    • Weston Creek Molonglo vs Ginninderra at ANU North, 11am.
  • 3rd Grade semi-finals:
    • Tuggeranong vs Ginninderra at Chisholm, 11am.
    • Queanbeyan vs Weston Creek Molonglo at Kippax 1, 11am
  • 4th Grade semi-finals:
    • Western District vs Eastlake at Kaleen, 11am.
    • Queanbeyan vs Weston Creek Molonglo at Neil Bulger Oval, 11am.

*1st to 4th Grade play Saturday and Sunday

Article by UC Sports Media student Oliver Nguyen

Principal Partner

Platinum Partner