ACT Comets name squad for return to National 2nd XI competition

ACT Comets Head Coach Jono Dean has named a 12-player squad for the Comets’ historic return to the Toyota National Second XI Competition, taking on Western Australia at the WACA Ground in Perth from next Monday, 6 November.

The match marks the first time since the 2012/2013 season that the ACT has competed as a standalone entity at 2nd XI level and with local players already seeing performances in ACT Premier Cricket being rewarded.

“We’ve been really encouraged to see the performances we have already this season, and it’s great that we’re in this position to recognise ACT Premier Cricket talent while also adding another step in our development pathways,” Dean said this week in naming his squad.

“We’re looking forward to testing the best ACT male cricketers on the national stage this summer.”

As part of Cricket ACT’s return to the national competition, the Comets have gained agreement from the other Australian states to select up to three interstate players of ACT origin. Part of the agreement will see this number decrease in future seasons.

The Comets depart for Perth on Sunday, with local players completing the current round of two-day Premier Cricket.

ACT Comets squad to take on Western Australia in Perth, 6–9 November: 

1.  Nic Broes (VC – right-hand batter, Queanbeyan)

2.  Jack Sanson (right-hand batter, Eastlake)

3.  Zac Worden (right-hand batter, Ginninderra)

4.  Zak Keogh (right-hand batter, Weston Creek-Molonglo)

5.  Tyler van Luin (allrounder, Queanbeyan)

6.  Blake Faunce (allrounder, Weston Creek-Molonglo)

7.  Scott Murn (allrounder, Western Districts)

8.  Hanno Jacobs* (Captain – allrounder, Western Suburbs, NSW)

9.  Benji Floros* (right-arm fast bowler, Valleys, Queensland)

10.  Mikey McNamara (wicketkeeper, Queanbeyan)

11.  Sam Skelly* (right-arm fast bowler, Eastern Suburbs, NSW)

12.  Kai Brunker (right-arm leg spin bowler, Queanbeyan)

* Denotes interstate player of ACT origin

  • Head Coach – Jono Dean
  • Assistant Coach – Mick Delaney
  • Physio – Josh Taylor

Banner image – Comets Head Coach, Jono Dean with Allrounder, Tyler Van Luin

Principal Partner

Platinum Partner