Four locals to debut for ACT Comets against NSW

Four local players will make their Comets debut when the ACT travels to Sydney to take on New South Wales in their final Toyota National 2nd XI Competition match of the season.

The match against the ACT’s traditional rivals will be played at Blacktown International Sports Park from next Monday, 12 February.

Tuggeranong trio of fast bowler Lewis Evans, allrounder Tyler Hays, and batter Akshay Joseph, along with ANU leg spinning allrounder Jake Smith have all won debut selections in the 12-player squad named by Head Coach Jono Dean.

The four players come in for interstate players of ACT origin Sam Skelly (quad injury) and Benji Floros (foot), while local ACT players Kai Brunker (back) and Jack Sanson (omitted) will also miss the game.

“It’s really pleasing to be able to reward performances in ACT Premier Cricket again, and Lewis, Tyler, Akshay and Jake all thoroughly deserve their opportunities,” Dean said.

“It’s also a nod to our pathways development, that a couple of 18-year-olds in Akshay and Jake have won Comets debuts after playing at the Under 19s National Championships before Christmas.

“But mostly, I’m looking forward to seeing the squad finish the season well.

"After the first match against Western Australia, we made improvements for the next game against South Australia, and we were better again against Tasmania.

"A win over New South Wales in our final match would be the perfect end for our return season at this level.”

The ACT Comets squad to take on New South Wales 2nd XI in Sydney, 12–15 February:

1. Nic Broes (Captain – right-hand batter, Queanbeyan)
2. Zac Worden (right-hand batter, Ginninderra)
3. Zak Keogh (right-hand batter, Weston Creek-Molonglo)
4. Tyler Van Luin (allrounder, Queanbeyan)
5. Scott Murn (allrounder, Western Districts)
6. Hanno Jacobs * (VC – allrounder; Western Suburbs, NSW)
7. Mikey McNamara (wicketkeeper, Queanbeyan)
8. Tyler Hays + (allrounder, Tuggeranong)
9. Jake Smith + (allrounder, ANU)
10. Zac Beveridge (right-arm offspin bowler, Queanbeyan)
11. Lewis Evans + (right-arm fast bowler, Tuggeranong)
12. Akshay Joseph + (right-hand batter, Tuggeranong)

* Denotes interstate player of ACT origin
+ Denotes National 2nd XI Competition debut

Head Coach – Jono Dean

Article by Brett McKay

Principal Partner

Platinum Partner