Katie Mack selected for Australia A series to launch Blockbuster Indian Summer

Intravision ACT Meteors Captain and star batter Katie Mack will feature in a multi-format women’s Australia A series across Queensland in August, which will kick-start a blockbuster summer that will see Australian teams face four separate Indian sides over the course of the season.

The Australian Women’s Team will face India in the CommBank ODI Series in December, while a men’s A series will be followed by the highly anticipated NRMA Border-Gavaskar Trophy Series beginning in November.

Mack has been included in all three squads named by the National selectors for the women’s A series that will feature a trio of T20s in Brisbane, three 50-over matches in Mackay and a four-day clash on the Gold Coast.

Katie Mack of Australia A reacts during warm up prior to the Australia A and England A one day international tour match at EPC Solar Park, on January 30, 2022, in Canberra, Australia. (Photo by Jeremy Ng/Getty Images)

Australia vice-captain Tahlia McGrath will captain the T20 and 50-over squads and will be joined in the white ball matches by fellow national pace bowlers Kim Garth, Megan Schutt and Tayla Vlaeminck.

A host of domestic stars will get the chance to push their case for higher honours throughout the series, including Queensland’s Charlie Knott and Victorian, Nicole Faltum who will take on leadership responsibilities alongside McGrath.

Australia A Squads

T20 Squad

  • Maddy Darke (WA/Perth Scorchers/Subiaco-Floreat CC)
  • Sophie Day (VIC/Mebourne Stars/Prahran CC)
  • Nicole Faltum (VIC/Melbourne Stars/Dandenong CC) (wk)
  • Tess Flintoff (VIC/Melbourne Stars/Ringwood CC)
  • Kim Garth (VIC/Melbourne Stars/Dandenong CC)
  • Charli Knott (QLD/Brisbane Heat/University of Queensland CC) (vc)
  • Katie Mack (ACT/Adelaide Strikers/Tuggeranong Valley CC)
  • Tahlia McGrath (SA/Adelaide Strikers/Glenelg CC) (c)
  • Grace Parsons (QLD/Brisbane Heat/Gold Coast District CC)
  • Megan Schutt (SA/Adelaide Strikers/Sturt CC)
  • Courtney Sippel (QLD/Brisbane Heat/Western Suburbs CC)
  • Tayla Vlaeminck (VIC/Mebourne Renegades/Plenty Valley CC)
  • Tahlia Wilson (NSW/Sydney Thunder/St George-Sutherland CC)


50-over Squad

  • Maitlan Brown (NSW/Sydney CC) *2nd & 3rd matches only
  • Maddy Darke (WA/Subiaco-Floreat CC)
  • Sophie Day (VIC/Prahran CC)
  • Nicole Faltum (VIC/Dandenong CC) (wk)
  • Tess Flintoff (VIC/Ringwood CC)
  • Kim Garth (VIC/Dandenong CC)
  • Charli Knott (QLD/University of Queensland CC) (vc)
  • Katie Mack (ACT/Tuggeranong Valley CC)
  • Tahlia McGrath (SA/West Torrens) (c)
  • Grace Parsons (QLD/Gold Coast District CC)
  • Megan Schutt (SA/Sturt CC) *1st match only
  • Courtney Sippel (QLD/Western Suburbs CC)
  • Tayla Vlaeminck (VIC/Plenty Valley CC)
  • Tahlia Wilson (NSW/St George-Sutherland CC)


Four-Day Squad

  • Maitlan Brown (NSW/Sydney CC)
  • Maddy Darke (WA/Subiaco-Floreat CC) (wk)
  • Sophie Day (VIC/Prahran CC)
  • Emma de Broughe (SA/Sturt CC)
  • Nicole Faltum (VIC/Dandenong CC) (wk) (vc)
  • Tess Flintoff (VIC/Ringwood CC)
  • Charli Knott (QLD/University of Queensland CC) (c)
  • Katie Mack (ACT/Tuggeranong Valley CC)
  • Lilly Mills (WA/Midland-Guildford CC)
  • Grace Parsons (QLD/Gold Coast District CC)
  • Kate Peterson (SA/Glenelg CC)
  • Courtney Sippel (QLD/Western Suburbs CC)
  • Georgia Voll (QLD/Sandgate-Redcliffe CC)


Speaking ahead of the series, McGrath said:

“I’m really looking forward to being a part of this series and for the challenge that India A will pose.

“It presents those of us not playing in The Hundred with the chance to prepare for a huge summer against a strong opposition.”

National Selector, Shawn Flegler said:

“It’s great to be able to welcome yet another Indian side to our shores for what’s going to be an exciting summer.

“We’ve seen some tough battles between the two countries in the past, especially in Mackay, and I expect this series to be no different.

“This series will allow us to take a closer look at some of the players who have impressed at domestic level while giving the nationally contracted players the chance to fine tune their preparations ahead of the ICC T20 World Cup.”

The Great Barrier Reef Arena will once again showcase its standing as one of Australia’s premier regional venues and events destination, hosting these three A matches. Following the recent announcement of the T20 Women's International series featuring Australia and New Zealand, these matches underscore the arena's capability to attract high-calibre international events that will benefit the Mackay region and the broader community.

Women’s Australia A v India A Series


  • 7 August: First T20, 1pm, Allan Border Field
  • 9 August: Second T20, 1pm, Allan Border Field
  • 11 August: Third T20, 1pm, Allan Border Field


  • 14 August: First 50-over match, 9:30am, Great Barrier Reef Arena, Mackay
  • 16 August: Second 50-over match, 1:20pm, Great Barrier Reef Arena, Mackay
  • 18 August: Third 50-over match, 1:20pm, Great Barrier Reef Arena, Mackay


  • 22-25 August: Four-day match, 9:30am, Gold Coast District Cricket Club

Principal Partner

Platinum Partner